The Eritrean People’s Movement concludes its Second Periodical Meeting in Khartoum

Gulf Information Center
August 9, 2005

The Central Council of the Eritrean People’s Movement has concluded this morning its second periodical meeting which started on August 6, 2005 in Khartoum. The council has accredited in this meeting a working paper for the forthcoming period after its ratification all the resolutions and recommendations that it has adopted. The council has reaffirmed its confidence on the Executive Body after its reelection for Mr.Abdella Adem as Chairman of the EPM. Furthermore the council has called for restructuring the offices of the Executive Body.

The council has, moreover, appreciated the unification steps which the EPM has followed within the Salvation Front. The Council has commissioned the Executive Body to complete the unification process in order to reach a united organization with the National Congress, and Sedege.

The representative of the government of the Sudan has appreciated the steps the EPM has taken and reaffirmed his government’s support for the ePM.” We consider the EPM has had great contributions in the Eritrean opposition arena,” said the Sudanese representative. Moreover the Ethiopian government’s representative said that the members of the Sana Coopperation sympathize with the Eritrean people.” We consider the birth of the EPM a positive transformation in the course of the Eritrean people’s struggle for democracy and justice,” Said the Ethiopian representative. Mohmued Neghash, the Chairman of the council, said that 27 members of the 33 members have participated at the second meeting. He added the members of the council has restructured in accordance to the prevailing circumstances. Moreover he appreciated the role of the members of the Sanna Cooperation

The EPM has formed its Executive body as following:

Abdella Adem……. Chairman

Zayed Gedi…………Deputy of the Chairman and Head of the Foreign Relations Office

Ahmed Ibrahim……. The Social and organizational Affairs

Salha Ahmed…………Secretary of the Executive Body

Gebar  Ogbe…………….. Information

Ogbai  Tekle………………Finance

Mohamed Omer……..Military and Security affairs

The GIC has leant the membership of the seven members of the council who have got absent from the second meeting of the EPM with out any prior notification has been suspended. The council has formed a committee to find out the excuses of their absence from the meeting. Five of the seven who have got absent from the meeting are from the organizations which has been assimilated at the EPM at its founding congress last April and the remained two are from the EPM.

 It is worth mentioning that Zayed Gedi who has been chosen for the office of the Foreign Office is of the Shaebai School and was a member of the Eritrean Democratic Party. Moreover, Gemba was a member of the Eritrean Democratic Party and Ogabi was a member of the Shaebia who joined Shaiebai in the year 1977 and held various positions until the year 2000 and in the year 2003 joined the Eritrean Democratic Party and he is a from among the founding members of the EPM


Short URL:

Posted by on Aug 9 2005 Filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Photo Gallery

Log in |2011